The Firing Order for a Ford 5.4 Triton

The Firing Order for a Ford 5.4 Triton. The Ford Modular engine series’ middle engine is the 5.4L Triton V8. The 5.4 Triton was introduced in 1997 as the next Ford F-Series powerhouse to replace the 351 Windsor. The Ford 5.4 V8 used a SOHC 2-valve configuration when it initially appeared under the hood of the Ford F-Series. Ford expanded the 5.4 Triton portfolio with more 3-valve and 4-valve models over the next five years.

The firing order of an engine is crucial to understand for several reasons. If you’re making any changes to the ignition timing on your 5.4 Triton, you’ll need to be aware of the firing sequence. This includes tune-ups, cam improvements, and other related changes. Knowing cylinder locations is also useful if your 5.4 throws a code for a specific cylinder.

Keep in mind that understanding the firing order of an engine is not the same as knowing the numerical location of each cylinder. Because the aim of a firing order is to balance out engine vibrations, the sequence on V8 engines, including the Triton, alternates between the engine’s left and right banks in a way that puts the least stress on the crankshaft.

Check out our Ultimate 5.4 Triton Engine Guide for more information on the Ford 5.4L Triton.

The Firing Order for a Ford 5.4 Triton

Firing Order for a Ford 5.4 Triton

The firing order for the Ford 5.4 Triton is 1-3-7-2-6-5-4-8. The Triton’s cylinders are numbered consecutively by bank, as seen in the diagram below. The passenger-side cylinder bank is numbered 1 through 4, with cylinder number 1 being closest to the front of the car. On the driver’s side, the cylinder bank is numbered 5 through 8, with cylinder number 5 being the closest to the front of the vehicle.

Except for one, this firing order applies to all V8 engines in the Ford Modular engine series. The firing order of the 2011+ 5.0L Coyote V8 is 1-5-4-8-6-3-7-2. The firing order of the 5.4 Triton is also the same as that of the earlier Ford 5.0 L HO and 351 CID.

Vehicle Applications for the Ford 5.4 Triton Firing Order

The following 5.4 Triton-powered vehicles all use the same firing order: 1-3-7-2-6-5-4-8. This includes all 5.4 variations, including 2-valve, 3-valve, and 4-valve V8s.

Ford 5.4L Triton 2-Valve Applications

  • Ford F-Series (from 1997 to 2004)
  • Ford Expedition, 1997-2004
  • 1997-2004 Navigator by Lincoln
  • Ford E-Series (from 1997 to 2017)

Ford 5.4 V8 3-Valve Applications

  • 2002-2007 Fairmont Ghia and Ford Falcon
  • Ford Fairlane G220/G8 2003-2004
  • Ford F-Series from 2004 to 2010.
  • Ford Expedition 2005-2014
  • Lincoln Navigator 2005-2014
  • Lincoln Mark LT 2006-2008

The Ford 5.4 Triton 4-Valve DOHC Applications

  • 1999-2004 Navigator by Lincoln
  • 2002 Blackwood, Lincoln
  • Ford Mustang SVT Cobra R 2000
  • Ford Shelby Cobra GT500 (2007-2009)
  • Ford Shelby Cobra GT500KR 2008-2009
  • Ford Shelby Cobra GT500 2010-2012
  • Ford GT from 2004 to 2006.
  • Ford Falcon XR8/FPV GT 2002-2008
  • Ford Falcon FPV GT 2007-2010

Related : The Ford 4.6 Firearms Order

Spark Plug Problems on a Ford 5.4 Triton

The Firing Order for a Ford 5.4 Triton

While not directly related to the 5.4 Triton firing order, it is worth noting that the 5.4 is known for spark plug problems. Pre-2002 2-valve engines are prone to spark plugs blowing out of their holes and damaging the cylinder head. The plugs in older 3-valve engines from 2004 to 2008 are prone to breaking during removal. Ford addressed the concerns in later engine variants. The most basic solution to 5.4 Triton spark plug problems is to just change them more frequently.