The Ford 4.6 Firearms Order

The Ford 4.6 Firearms Order. The Ford 4.6 V8 was the first of Ford’s Modular engine series, debuting in 1990. From 1961 until 2002, the Modular engine series supplanted the long-running small-block Ford Windsor V8 engine series. The 4.6 V8 was an important engine for Ford because it was the first in the series. It is a highly adaptable engine that has been utilized in anything from the Lincoln Town Car to the Ford F-150.

The proper operation of any internal combustion engine has numerous aspects. The Ford 4.6 V8, like all other engines, has a firing order that governs the sequence of ignition in the cylinders. This is significant for several reasons. The firing order of an engine influences its vibrations, smoothness, and sound. If an engine’s firing order isn’t optimum, it can lead to crankshaft damage, excessive engine vibration, and a slew of other serious issues.

Knowing the firing sequence of your Ford 4.6 V8 is very crucial if you are performing any ignition-related repairs or alterations to your engine. The firing sequence of your Ford 4.6 must remain consistent, since changes caused by defective or worn ignition system components might cause misfires or prohibit the engine from starting.

The Ford 4.6 Firearms Order

Ford 4.6 Firearms Order

Firing Order for the Ford 4.6 V8: 1-3-7-2-6-5-4-8

The Ford 4.6 V8’s firing order is 1-2-7-2-6-5-4-8. Except for one, this is consistent with all of the other engines in the Ford Modular engine family. The only Modular engine with a varied firing order is the 2011+ 5.0L Ford Coyote V8 (1-5-4-8-6-3-7-2). The firing order of the 4.6L V8 is also the same as that of the earlier Ford 5.0 L HO and 351 CID.

The Ford 4.6 Firearms Order

To understand the firing order of the 4.6 V8, it is critical to understand how the cylinders are numbered. The passenger-side cylinder bank is numbered 1 through 4, with cylinder number 1 being closest to the front of the car. On the driver’s side, the cylinder bank is numbered 5 through 8, with cylinder number 5 being the closest to the front of the vehicle. For visual learners, we’ll add a diagram below.

Firing Order Vehicle Applications Ford 4.6

The firing order for the 4.6 Ford V8 automobiles listed below is 1-3-7-2-6-5-4-8. This includes all 4.6 versions, including 2-valve, 3-valve, and 4-valve V8s.

Ford 4.6L V8 2-Valve Applications

  • Lincoln Town Car, 1991-2011
  • Ford Crown Victoria/Mercury Grand Marquis 1992-2012
  • Ford Thunderbird/Mercury Cougar 1994-1997
  • Ford F-Series (from 1997 to 2010)
  • Ford E-Series (from 1997 to 2014)
  • Ford Explorer/Mercury Mountaineer 2002-2004
  • Ford Expedition, 1997-2004
  • Ford Mustang GT 1996-2004

Ford 4.6L V8 3-Valve Applications

  • Ford Mustang GT 2005-2010
  • Ford Explorer/Mercury Mountaineer 2006-2010
  • Ford F-Series from 2009 to 2010.

The Ford 4.6L V8 4-Valve Applications

  • From 1993 through 1998, Lincoln VIII
  • Ford Thunderbird 1996-1997
  • Lincoln Continental, 1995-2002
  • Lincoln Aviator (2003-2005)
  • Mercury Marauder 2003-2004
  • Ford Mustang SVT Cobra 1996-2004
  • Ford Mustang Mach 1 2003-2004

Related : The Upgrades for the Ford 5.4 Triton Engine

Details about the Ford 4.6 V8 Ignition System

The Ford 4.6 V8 has coil-on-plug ignition, which means that the PCM controls spark plug ignition. This eliminates the need to know the engine’s firing order. It was critical to ensure that the spark plug wires were connected into the correct cylinder on older engines that used distributors with spark plug wires. Misfires or non-starts could occur if you did not connect the correct wire to the correct plug.

The spark plug ignition sequence is electrically controlled in the 4.6 V8. The PCM in the Ford 4.6 uses crankshaft position sensor readings to optimally ignite each spark plug independently. This is more efficient in terms of emissions and performance. It also means that the firing order of the engine is more consistent and regulated.

While the Ford 4.6 V8 does not have spark plug wires like older engines, it does have eight electrical plugs that power the spark plugs. Each of the eight cylinders is represented by one of these plugs. While it is more difficult to misalign these plugs, it is nevertheless critical that they go to the correct location.

4.6 Modular V8 Engine Specifications

The Ford 4.6 Firearms Order